Human Resources

Payroll Services

Our City of Burlington employee payroll is managed and issued in compliance with local, state, and federal laws and regulations.
We support our employees in navigating the payroll process, monitor time submission and approvals for non-exempt employees to ensure compliance with the Fair Labor Standards Act, implement and ensure the minimum wage standard within New World ERP and Executime and process overtime and comp time exceptions.

Please note that we are working remotely due to COVID-19. All inquiries and requests will be processed over the phone and/or email.

Payroll Services Team

Laurie Thompson, Payroll Manager
lthompson@burlingtonvt.gov | 802-503-2143

Lisa Heald. Payroll Administer and Retirement Administrator
lheald@burlingtonvt.gov | 802-846-2489
Departments: Police, City Council 

Betsy Shand, Payroll Administer II 802-864-8448
bshand@burlingtonvt.gov
Departments: Department of Public Works, Parks, Recreation & Waterfront, Permitting & Inspections, Community & Economic Development Office

Mary Fortier, Payroll Administer I 802-864-8578
mfortier@burlingtonvt.gov
Departments: Clerk/Treasurer's Office, Airport, Fletcher Free Library, Innovation and Technology, Mayor’s Office, Assessor's Office, Church Street Marketplace, City Attorney's Office, Human Resources Department, Burlington City Arts, REIB, Planning

Meghan Sweeney, Administrative and Accounting Assistant for the Fire Department
msweeney@burlingtonvt.gov
Department: Fire Department

Melissa Legg, Accounting Administrator A-II for the Burlington Electric Department
mlegg@burlingtonelectric.com | 802-865-7372
Deparment: Electric Department

Helpful Links

Forms