Police Commission

Meet Your Commissioners


Commissioners  Ward Term Email

Stephanie Seguino, Co-Chair

6 6/30/2025


Shakuntal Rao, Co-Chair

5 6/30/2025


Suzy Comerford

5 6/30/2024


Kevin Garrison

7 6/30/2024


Jessica Oski

4 6/30/2025


Jack Keefe

1 6/30/2025


Mary Cox

1 6/30/2023



Stephanie Seguino --- Co-Chair 

Dr. Stephanie Seguino is Professor Emerita in Economics, University of Vermont. Her academic research focuses on intergroup inequality and she has co-authored several studies on racial disparities in Vermont traffic policing.  A former Burlington School Commissioner, Stephanie was appointed to the Burlington Police Commission in 2020. Since 2021, she has served as co-chair of the Commission and serves on the National Association for Civilian Oversight of Law Enforcement’s (NACOLE’s) use of force policy committee.



Shakuntala Rao --- Co-Chair

Shakuntala Rao has lived on King Street in Burlington for 27 years. She is a professor of Communication at State University of New York, in Plattsburgh, where she has taught classes in media and journalism. She has been a Police Commissioner since 2022. During her spare time, Shakuntala likes to engage with her neighbors about public safety, policing and how to maintain and create safe neighborhoods.


Jessica Oski (she/her) --- Commissioner

Jessica Oski is a lawyer and a lobbyist with over 30 years of experience. As a lobbyist, she has represented a wide variety of clients including, the City of Burlington, Planned Parenthood of Northern New England, American Civil Liberties Union, Vermont NEA, Vermont Coalition for Disability Rights, Patient Choices Vermont and University of Vermont Health Network.  Jessica has also served as an Assistant Attorney General and Assistant City Attorney for the City of Burlington. She graduated from UVM and Vermont Law School. Jessica was appointed to the Police Commission in 2023.