How to Apply and Who Decides

How To Apply for CDBG 


CDBG funds are awarded on an annual basis, the Notice of Funding Availability (NOFA) is released in late November for grant funds that will be available the following July 1st. 

The submission deadline for 2019 CDBG funding has passed.  The NOFA for 2020 funding will be released in November of 2019.  


Please see detailed information regarding CDBG eligiblity in the 2019 Notice of Funding Availability (NOFA)


For more information about CDBG, please contact Valerie Russell at vrussell@burlingtonvt.gov

Who Decides?


2019 Advisory Board Information:

The keystone to the annual allocation of CDBG funds in the City of Burlington is the Citizen Advisory Board, which makes funding recommendations to the Mayor and the City Council. This citizen allocation process has been in place since the 1980s; the Citizen Advisory Board reviews all funding proposals that were not initiated by CEDO.

Half of the members of the Citizen Advisory Board are elected by the Neighborhood Planning Assemblies, three members are appointed by the Mayor, one member represents Burlington youth, and the remaining members represent other stakeholders such as the State of Vermont.  Below is a list of members for the 2019 Board which meets during January, February, and March to review this year's applications. A Public Hearing before City Council was held on April 29, 2019, to finalize the allocation of CDBG funds.

Burlington's use of a Citizen Advisory Board to make recommendations on the best use of the city's annual federal CDBG appropriation has received national recognition, including a local Best Practice award from the U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development. The Board makes difficult but community-based decisions about addressing a broad spectrum of poverty-related needs with finite resources.


2019 CDBG Advisory Board



Jonathan Chappel-Sokol

Ward One

Alissa Faber

Ward Two

Kevin Dentermonn

Ward Three

Alex Farrell

Ward Four

Samuel Beall

Ward Five

Mary Riley

Ward Six

James Loop

Ward Seven

Gabrielle Sealy

Ward Eight
Chol Dhoor


Jessica Hyman


Alexander Friend


Jane Helmstetter

State of Vermont



Adam Roof (ex officio)

City Council Community Development Committee
Brian Pine (ex officio) City Council Community Development Committee
Karen Paul (ex officio) City Council Community Development Committee


2019 CDBG Board Meeting Agendas & Minutes: